Help! > Machines, Tools and Fixtures

Helical gear cutting

<< < (3/4) > >>

b.lindsey:
George, thanks for collecting all of this information in one thread. I am making the topic "sticky" for the time being so it won't fall down the list until everyone that has an interest in the subject has a chance to read it

Bill

gbritnell:
Andrew,
The reason the crests look so wide is because of the angle of the helix. You'll have to take my word that the gears mesh nicely.
gbritnell

nj111:
Andrew, I was typing this and George beat me to it with a very concise answer! -
I'm not an expert  but I do have a couple of old Sunderland gear planers in the shop at home and sometimes I need to cut a helical gear on them.
I was thinking maybe the answer to your question is because the helix angle has an effect on the pitch required to generate the tooth.  I'll try to explain as best I can:
If you view a helical tooth looking square onto on either side face of the gear rather than considering it's cross section you will see a wider tooth than normal for any given helix angle. The tooth is the same height but it's wider / fatter to look at.  The greater the helix angle, the wider / more distorted the tooth appears to be - from that viewpoint.
On a gear planer there are two gearboxes to set up to produce the part , one for the number of teeth and the other for the tooth size i.e. DP or Module.
When you set up the pitch for a helical gear  you have to allow for this extra width. In other words you have to set the machine as if you were cutting a larger tooth pitch - but you are not.