Author Topic: Talking Thermodynamics  (Read 194575 times)

Offline steam guy willy

Re: Talking Thermodynamics
« Reply #1305 on: April 20, 2020, 02:33:09 AM »
Hi MJM, I wast doing  some washing in the bath recently and noticed that after a while these ridges of detritus had occurred ? I left the water in the tub and eventually this pattern appeared..So is this some sort of thermodynamic action or vibration activity ?? and I was wondering how it is formed ..Any ideas and does this have any detrimental effect on the vessel over time ?

thanks willy

Offline MJM460

• Melbourne, Australia
« Reply #1306 on: April 20, 2020, 01:37:28 PM »
Hi Willy, I am glad to see that your mind is turning back to the great questions of life again.  It shows even better than your thermometer that you are well.

Very hard to diagnose from this distance, and I am not really a water expert.  I would not put it down to any obscure thermodynamics though.

Only you would know if you were washing something very dirty, been crawling around in the allotment perhaps, or if your water from the tap is fresh from the Thames.  Or even just rusty pipes.

You mention leaving it sit for a while before all this appeared, so suspended mud particles could have settled, or if the water is exceptionally hard, meaning it has a high concentration of calcium salts, you could get a bit of precipitation after some cooling and evaporation.  Calcium salts are not very soluble so it is not difficult to reach the solubility limit.

But basically, that is a very long winded way of saying “I have no idea!” 

I hope appropriate to the spirit of your question.