Author Topic: Hello from south east England  (Read 1104 times)

Offline RichC

Hello from south east England
« on: December 07, 2020, 11:31:19 AM »
Good day,
so for many years of attending models engineering shows (since the late 90's) i have always been fascinated by the stunning model engines on display, i am a former MoD apprentice and now electronics engineer in the aerospace industry who has been flying model aircraft for most of my life. I also have two steam engines, one of which i am rebuilding currently having picked it up again recently after about 10 years gathering dust.
i have attempted to spend this year finishing off projects as i have been very guilty of leaving far too many unfinished, unfortunately i think it will run into next year a bit as i have two aircraft awaiting painting and my unfinished workshop is too cold to paint in.

i have a 6" centre height lathe and a Myford knee mill which i have also recently converted to CNC, although not finished yet...  oh and a CNC router which is finished!!!!

ultimately i am looking to build something multi-cylinder inline for a large scale warbird, ideally gas and with a reduction gear for a more scale sized prop. but i think i will likely start with a single cylinder 4-stroke in the 10-15cc range to get my head around engine making and back into the world of looking for useful parts inside of lumps of metal.

i have been hunting for plans for my ideal multi-cylinder project and currently the best i have found is the WT Engines 2727-R3, which is beautiful, but only 46cc and glow. ideally i'm looking for something neared 80cc, but it does look like a nice design.

https://wtengines.com/index.php/engine-plans/wt-inline-2727-r3/

i have also been looking at another engine which is 90cc and also glow, but i'd prefer enclosed rockers etc.

https://www.cad-modelltechnik-jung.de/construction-plans-model-engines.html