Author Topic: Boiler water glass sight gauge-to add or not?  (Read 5022 times)

Offline ChipMaker

• Warren, MI USA
Boiler water glass sight gauge-to add or not?
« on: January 19, 2016, 01:56:42 PM »
I have been running my model steam engines that I have built, on compressed air and I have gotten comments that if they are steam engines, they should be running on steam!  I guess that I would have to agree with that, so I decided that I would build two boilers; one would be horizontal and the other vertical.  I decided this really, when my grandson brought me some copper pipe that was being scrapped from his work, enough to make two boilers.  This copper pipe has a I.D. of 3.0" and a wall thickness of 0.085".  With the boiler ends at 3.0" diameter, this would give me enough room to add a water sight gauge that maybe, I could make from small glass tubing.  I have never worked with glass tubing before, or have made such sight gauge so this could/would be a challenge.  But, a sight gauge would give the boiler(s) a bit of "class" and add to the safety of not running them dry.  My question is then, is it worth the effort?  It could leak, get broken, etc.  I would appreciate your comments on this and thanks for reading.   

Offline mklotz

• LA, CA, USA
    • SOFTWARE FOR PEOPLE WHO BUILD THINGS!
Re: Boiler water glass sight gauge-to add or not?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 02:50:51 PM »
If the challenge of making your own becomes overwhelming, they can be purchased from PMR...

http://www.pmmodelengines.com/shop/boiler-accessories/water-gauge/

Breakage in the typical model boiler setting isn't a huge issue since, in use, the boiler is hot so people tend to not get too close.  I've seen full scale gauges with metal guards for the glass but that might be tough to do in a miniature.