Author Topic: Hemingway quick set Keats  (Read 13920 times)

Online Roger B

• Global Moderator
  • Switzerland
Hemingway quick set Keats
« on: October 25, 2014, 06:40:45 PM »
I picked up my Keats kit when I was in England and made a start today. This is my first attempt at making something from castings  ::)

As usual it is on the limit for my machines. By filling out the slots to fit the jaws on my 4 jaw chuck I could just clamp it. The books all say you should start with a deep cut on castings to get through the skin. I didn't think that this was rigid enough so used a carbide tipped tool and some hope  :headscratch: It seemed to work. In the end the faces were flat and parallel along the length, but tapered about 0.04mm across the width. I would like to improve this, but suspect I should wait and see if the casting relaxes a bit after it has been machined. Is this likely?

Milling the first slot went ok. I am using a 10mm cutter at 560rpm and increased the depth in 1mm steps. Does this sound reasonable?

I will hopefully finish the base tomorrow and start working out how to hold the V block.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2014, 08:58:41 PM by Roger B »
Best regards

Roger

Online Roger B

• Global Moderator
  • Switzerland
Re: Hemingway quick set Keats
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2014, 07:37:59 PM »
A few more steps. Holding the V block for the first cut was quite difficult as nothing was very flat or parallel. Once one face was reasonable I could get a good fixture. The first results were not as parallel as expected (~0.1mm in 70mm error  :( ). On further checking it appears that the top of the cross slide is not parallel with the bed (~0.1 mm in 60mm error) and I must have put the block in the 'wrong way' round. As I now know the problem I can clock the components against the bed and compensate  ::) I think  :headscratch:
« Last Edit: October 27, 2014, 07:24:10 AM by Roger B »
Best regards

Roger

Online Roger B

• Global Moderator
  • Switzerland