Author Topic: What does it do?  (Read 12468 times)

Online Captain Jerry

• Summerfield, FL USA
What does it do?
« on: March 18, 2014, 05:20:23 AM »
 What does it do?

A familiar question.  Having poured blood, sweat, and brain cells, over a period of days, weeks, months or years into a project, you show it to someone and instead of any sort of appreciation of your skill and dedication, the response is “What does it do?”  I have come to the conclusion that there is no adequate answer to this question. You have probably worked out your own witty or sarcastic answer...I know I have, but even my best efforts leave me wondering about the lack of understanding.  Maybe I haven't understood the question.

I have been an amateur machinist for just a few years and I certainly don't produce the jaw dropping masterpieces that many of you do, but I would bet that even you grand masters have faced this question more than once.  I have faced it so often that I have exhausted my ability to craft an answer.  The closest I have come to a sincere answer is “It gives me satisfaction.”  I am rethinking that answer.  If I get such satisfaction, why am I so often dissatisfied with the results?  Why do I settle for imperfect parts by telling myself that perfection will come? Maybe it is not that satisfying after all. Maybe it is just a way of passing time without having to deal with the real world.