Author Topic: I still HATE polishing  (Read 14007 times)

Offline Walsheng

• Norfolk, MA
    • Walsh Engineering
I still HATE polishing
« on: March 19, 2013, 12:48:28 AM »
I just spent about 2 or 3 hours over the last two days polishing the connecting rod on the Stuart No. 9 I am building. The problem is I saw a picture of a No. 9 with a polished connecting rod and really liked how it looked with all the polished brass and bronze.
When I was building molds for a living I can't tell you how many hours I spent polishing molds.  Everything from just draw stoning so the part would release from the mold to literally 100+ hours on a mold getting an optical polish.  Now I have more patience but it kills my 60 year old thumbs.
Maybe next time I will just paint the whole darned thing and convince myself I like it.

Anyone else hate polishing?

John

Offline stevehuckss396

• Sterling Heights, MI USA
    • Steve's Miniature Sparkplugs
Re: I still HATE polishing
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2013, 12:55:00 AM »
I like a polish on my parts. I hate maintaining it.
Do not be like the cat who wanted a fish but was afraid to get his paws wet.

Offline zeeprogrammer

• West Chester, PA, USA
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2013, 12:56:40 AM »
Anyone else hate polishing?

Yes. For a number of reasons....

1) I'm never satisfied with the result. Don't think I ever could be.
2) It's near the end and I'm lousy at 'finishing'
3) It's often not appreciated except by those who know what went into it
4) Seems like it takes the most time of any operation
5) Like you mention...it can hurt after a while

Still...a fine polish can really show attention to quality.
As for number 5...take frequent breaks.

Ah yes...what Steve just said.
Carl (aka Zee) Will sometimes respond to 'hey' but never 'hey you'.
"To work. To work."
Zee-Another Thread Trasher.

Offline swilliams

• Canberra Australia
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2013, 01:08:19 AM »