Author Topic: Hello from Danvers, MA  (Read 1262 times)

Offline legokid900

Hello from Danvers, MA
« on: May 26, 2023, 12:32:14 PM »
Hi All! My name is Hayden and I have recently moved into a space with enough room for something larger than a bench drill press! I've been operating small scale steam locomotives for a little over 10 years now and now that I have the space I want to acquire the skills and tools to make one from scratch.

I have acquired a 42x9 Enco mill and a 12x36 Clausing 5914 lathe and they are currently in pieces in my basement ready to be reassembled. Both machines came with quite a bit of tooling. I also have an Enco 24" 3-in-1 metal former that somehow made it down in one piece.

Who knew how fun it could be to move ~5000lbs of cast iron into a basement!

Offline 55fairlane

Re: Hello from Danvers, MA
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2023, 12:50:59 PM »
Hi Hayden, 

I'm also a new kid around here. Welcome to the forum!
Imagination is much more important than knowledge

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2023, 02:34:04 PM »
Welcome Haydon   I'm in central Mass.   I assume you are familiar with the Washakum Live Steamers?

Dave
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Offline Roger B

• Global Moderator
  • Switzerland
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2023, 05:35:17 PM »
Welcome to the Forum  :ThumbsUp:  :ThumbsUp:
Best regards

Roger

Online Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2023, 06:20:06 PM »
Hi Hayden!
Welcome to the group!  Glad to have you aboard!  :cheers:

Sounds like you've got some nice machines!  Looking forward to seeing some pics of your shop and the stuff you'll be working on.  What loco will be your first project? :)

Kim

Offline RReid

• Northern California
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2023, 08:45:21 PM »
Hello Hayden, and welcome!
Regards,
Ron

Offline Dave Otto

• Boise, Idaho USA
    • Photo Bucket