Author Topic: Light weight AR rimfire build  (Read 1137 times)

Offline 55fairlane

Light weight AR rimfire build
« on: June 01, 2023, 09:58:52 PM »
So my latest project is a new AR rimfire build, I am a competitive rifle shooter, and I want a CMP national rimfire sporter championship. Last year was my best showing 9th out of the 179 people in my division (16th overall out of 709 people). My current rifle JUST makes weigh,  we are limited to 7½ pound with magazine,  and the gun is a little front heavy, so I cannot add weigh to the rear for counter balance.
So I went looking for a light weight barrel,  and I found one 1½ pounds cost.....$350 ouch!! As I pondered my options,  I said, I have a match chamber reamer,  plenty of barrel blanks and I am a machinist,  let's make a barrel.
But first I need an upper, a bolt and a handgaurd.....found a set new unused (with a bull barrel)  for about half cost. Off to a great start.
Apon receiving the parts I found the barrel nut was steal and weighed over 3 pounds. Ok to heavy over weight all ready, so step 1 was make a new barrel nut out of aluminum and have it hard anodized.
Imagination is much more important than knowledge

Offline 55fairlane

Re: Light weight AR rimfire build
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2023, 10:35:30 PM »
Ok barrel nut done, let's move on to the barrel.
I determined that a 9/16 diameter,  17 inch barrel should tip the scales at 1.2 pounds....perfect!
I found an old Remington 510 score master barrel. On went the 4 jaw, on went the offsides "spider! In went the barrel and using a gauge pin inserted in the chamber I dailed the barrel in (on both ends) , cut the chamber off, turn the trunion for the bolt carrier group (there is a co..ar on the CMMG pattern bolt)  turn the barrel a few Inches to 9/16 dia and chamber.
Chamber is a bentz type and the floating chamber reamer holder I made

Offline 55fairlane

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2023, 10:40:11 PM »