Author Topic: Beginner facing steel on lathe  (Read 3698 times)

Offline glinscott

Beginner facing steel on lathe
« on: May 14, 2023, 06:54:57 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to the hobby, and have been reading/watching videos for a while.  Finally at the stage of actually starting to make some parts!  I'm attempting the tender of the Kozo A3 (and expecting to scrap quite a few parts along the way...).  I have a small lathe - 7x16 from LittleMachineShop.  The tender wheels are first, and I'm using 12L14 steel, with a HSS bit (picture below).  I centered the tip by lining up with the dead center on the tailstock, and that seemed to go well (no pip left at center).  Also had some cutting oil on the work.

Kozo advises 150 rpm for the facing operation, and 0.01" cuts.  However, I was seeing the lathe stop/grab at those speeds!  It was the end of the stock, so was quite rough.  I increased the speed just slightly, to around 250 rpm, and it seemed to go better.  It was producing a decent amount of smoke though, is that expected?  My finish was also terrible, which is probably expected, but it would be nice to get better finish.  Any tips there?  I've just realized my cross-feed handle is really stiff, so that's probably contributing to the finish not being great.

Thanks!
Gary
« Last Edit: May 14, 2023, 07:10:36 PM by glinscott »

Offline Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
Re: Beginner facing steel on lathe
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2023, 07:35:30 PM »
The preground tool you are using is not one for facing, you are pushing the non cutting edge of a chamfer tool into the work

Look at the second image in this link which gives the uses for the tools, you want to use the left hand one and mount it so it is lengthways to the lathe

https://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/Catalogue/Cutting-Tools/Lathe-Turning-Tools/8pc-High-Speed-Steel-Turning-Tool-Sets

Online Jo

• Administrator
  • Hampshire, england.
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2023, 08:05:45 PM »