Author Topic: lil brother air cooled.  (Read 5300 times)

Offline miss_emma_jade

lil brother air cooled.
« on: May 14, 2023, 01:40:33 PM »
long time lurker, and i promise to try and search for answers before asking, and im posting this with a disclaimer, ie. im not good at keeing up build logs .

anyway 2019? I think, I bought a partly machined kit from a freind at a swap meet while on holidays in california. it sat in the cupboard for a bit, then last week i did some closer investigation into what was ok and what wasnt.
theres a crank there, the throws are soldered together at the wrong spacings. theres some valves too, theyre tapered and badly finished. no gears. the base has had some machining, mostly close to size, so far usable. the cylinder had neen bored, and sort of faced. its saveable
the flywheels are machined. both roughly the same size etc. usable.
so, I messed around and set the cylinder up on a mandrel nice and accurately, and machined the flats that bolt to the base, id say thats the reference surface , so, that done, ive machined the casting to length and started drilling some holes. at this point the switch on my mill fell apart. ill have it fixed by tuesday hopefully.

tonight I machined the fan shaft. converting to BA as unc bolts are impossibe to get here. tapped the grease cup thread 5/32 x 40 as it seems more workable than 1/8" .

that brings me to my first question? what design has everyone coime up with for tiny grease cups etc? cant remember ever seeing much written about that?

anyway more as I go, I promise.
because I always need another project..

Offline Admiral_dk

• Søften - Denmark
Re: lil brother air cooled.
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2023, 03:35:25 PM »
First welcome  :cheers:

There has been a number of Oil- and Grease- Cups over the years - but I will admit that most are the former and the majority are part of a bigger builds .... and sorry but I can't remember where to look ....