Author Topic: What shall I build?  (Read 2323 times)

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
What shall I build?
« on: March 27, 2023, 03:11:15 PM »
Hi all, I'm a forum member returning to model engineering after a bit of a break, and looking for a few ideas of what to build next.
I'm not a complete beginner but not an expert either, I have a Chester DB10 lathe and Champion 20 milling machine plus the usual tooling etc.
In he past I've built small steam engines and am happy to build another one perhaps a bit larger or possibly an internal combustion engine if I can find a fairly simple one.
I'm open to either building barstock or from castings.

Any suggestions welcome 🙂
« Last Edit: March 27, 2023, 03:36:00 PM by Gas_mantle »

Online crueby

• Rochester NY
Re: What shall I build?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2023, 03:20:17 PM »
I've got the CAD design/plans from the USS Kearsarge steering engine I could send you, its a larger (much) version than the one I built from the German river boat last year:

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2023, 03:34:34 PM »
Many thanks for the offer Crueby but I think that is beyond my skill level.
I'd like a relatively easy steam or IC engine build or possibly even a hot air engine.

Offline Jo

• Administrator
  • Hampshire, england.
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2023, 04:52:29 PM »
Hi Peter,

The clarkson engine you mentioned on the other thread is a good idea at the right price.  :)

As a quickly to get your hand back in an oscillator is always a good choice. The blackgate vee was a good price for the size of the engine. The Stuart oscillator vee twin is cute as well but rather more expensive. Stuart’s also do singles oscillators  ;)

Jo
Enjoyment is more important than achievement.

Online crueby

• Rochester NY
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2023, 05:28:36 PM »