Author Topic: Farm Boy  (Read 12477 times)

Offline Dalboy

Re: Farm Boy
« Reply #30 on: June 02, 2023, 01:28:50 PM »
Machined out the water hopper. by doing this first it will reduce weight for when I machine out the through hole for the cylinder liner which will reduce any tendency to bounce the machine around(not that I think it will be much problem)

I did start on the mill but decided to transfer it to the lathe which is what I should have done to start with as I was getting a better finish to the bottom and also found it easier to get the right dimensions, I am still learning. A recess  was machined for the top to fit which I made the other day I did manage to get it just under 0.002" so a little heat to the hopper should allow it to slide in, that will only happen once all the machining and drilling is complete.

Offline Dalboy

« Reply #31 on: June 04, 2023, 10:20:09 PM »
Over the last couple of days I managed to bore out for the cylinder liner as well as drill three holes to connect this part to the front base unit. The forth hole is for a oil passage with a recess for an O ring to seal it when they are bolted together

Marked out for the oil passage down to the cylinder liner

Set up and drilling of the oil passage using a couple of angle plates to set it at 18deg. Once set on the mill spot drilled and then drilled through to join the one on the joint

I needed to flip the part so I could countersink for some cap head bolts, after which reset the DRO to perform a 4 bolt pattern and lightly marked them ready for drilling and threading tomorrow. These are for the head fixing and as can be seen they are quite close to the other top bolt holes

Offline Dalboy

« Reply #32 on: June 29, 2023, 10:22:55 PM »
Eventually got back on the Farm Boy engine.