Author Topic: Recommended reading  (Read 2441 times)

Offline chark_mandler

Recommended reading
« on: December 18, 2022, 11:24:28 PM »
I'm looking for some books on loco building, preferably in metric. The Kozo Hiraoka books look amazing and very accurate but are rare in the UK. I am an experienced engineer and have built several difficult stationary engines but am looking for a book and designs that are well proven and not full of errors. Something more complex than a Sweet Pea design.
Looking for metric as its getting harder to get certain materials in imperial in the UK.

Offline Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
Re: Recommended reading
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2022, 11:30:03 PM »
Hmm... I would still recommend any of Kozo's books.  I didn't realize they were hard to come by in the UK.  Most of his designs are metric except the New Shay and the Pennsy A3 Switcher. 

I'm sure there are other good books, but that's all I'm familiar with.
Kim

Offline crueby

• Rochester NY
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2022, 12:28:15 AM »
The New Shay is also in metric, at least my copy is. All his books are still in print, can be ordered from the publisher, Village Press, if not found elsewhere.  Camden Miniature Steam carries them in UK.

https://camdenmin.co.uk/search?q=Kozo
« Last Edit: December 19, 2022, 12:31:44 AM by crueby »

Offline RReid

• Northern California
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2022, 12:31:21 AM »
I have an eBook copy of Model & Miniature Locomotive Construction by Stan Bray. It's not a plans book, but it does cover methods of construction quite well. I believe I got my copy from Camden Miniatures in the UK.
https://camdenmin.co.uk/
« Last Edit: December 19, 2022, 02:30:53 AM by RReid »
Regards,
Ron

Offline chark_mandler

« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2022, 12:36:38 AM »
Thanks for the comments and recommendations.

Offline Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2022, 06:42:55 AM »