Author Topic: Question about an old post on fitting chucks.  (Read 2405 times)

Offline LakeHouseMetals

Question about an old post on fitting chucks.
« on: November 22, 2022, 01:32:53 AM »
Hello,
New user to this forum, and to machining, more or less.
A few years ago, when I was still working for a living, and had income, I was gathering equipment for what was to become my hobby in retirement.  One of the machines I found was a 1941 South Bend 9C that appears to have been in very good condition even before someone spruced it up with new paint, etc.  Anyway, from reading, lurking on sites like MEM, etc, it seemed clear that sooner or later I would need a four jaw chuck.  I actually found a place online that was selling brand new Atlas 6" four jaw chucks sporting the 1.5" 8TPI specs used on my SB.  When it came in, I was excited, but then pretty disappointed to find it would not thread all the way onto my spindle!  I set it aside and continued to use the 3 jaw that came with the machine.  But now I want to turn a shaft with an offset pin on it and I think I really need the four jaw.
So, Google led me to Steamer's post about fitting a chuck to the spindle.  I did not know that was 'a thing', I thought my new chuck would 'just fit'.  But hey, now there is hope!

I have a question on the process that was used.  Early on, Steamer stated "but first we need a plug gage in the form of a dummy spindle"...

Why is that?  I would have guessed I could just chuck a straight bar into the 3 jaw, turn the four jaw around and clamp down on that bar, indicate on the inner bore and true things up until the new chuck was running 'true and concentric'?, and then open the bore to fit my spindle.
I don't see what the dummy spindle does.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

R. G. Sheehan

Offline vtsteam

Re: Question about an old post on fitting chucks.
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2022, 02:57:08 AM »