Author Topic: Sensitive Drill Attachment  (Read 3485 times)

Offline JasonP

Sensitive Drill Attachment
« on: September 06, 2022, 07:13:10 PM »
After spending a productive weekend reading build logs for the MEM Corliss, I came across a discussion of a sensitive drill attachment. I'm new to the machining game and hadn't heard of this before, to my cost. When I was machining the engine block for my corliss I broke 3 drills trying to drill the steam ports, which caused no end of grief. It doesn't help that I'm using a bit of 1018 scrap that is quite "grabby".

So after a bit of research I hit ebay and found what I think is a nice tool, a Jacobs #0 chuck and #55 Drill attachment. It's now on it's way to me, but I'm a bit wary as it is used. Does anyone know how to evaluate how good this tool is? Where should I be concerned?  Any advise on this tool and it's use would be greatly appreciated.

Jason

Offline crueby

• Rochester NY
Re: Sensitive Drill Attachment
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2022, 07:29:29 PM »
I don't have much experience with a senstive drilling attachment, but have vowed to never again use 304 stainless steel, it also is very grabby and work-hardens quickly, destroyed a number of drills and taps on that. Some alloys are just not worth the trouble on models.

1018 steel is rated low for machining, though it is very popular for welding.  I much prefer using 303 stainless, it machines very well, does not work harden, drills and taps very well. Not available in as many shapes/sizes, but worth looking at if you can.

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2022, 08:58:01 PM »
If its' not getting wet on a regular basis,  consider 1144SP.   It's a low alloy medium carbon steel, with excellent properties ( 100,000 psi yield ect) but is very nice to machine, drills, mills and taps very well, and is fine without heat treat, though you can case harden it very well.    good stuff!

Dave