Author Topic: PM Research Dynamo  (Read 4390 times)

Offline EricB

PM Research Dynamo
« on: March 22, 2022, 01:15:59 AM »
I decided my little engines needed something to do, so I bought a PMR Dynamo kit thinking it could be an easy build. I started making chips about a month ago. My first step of course was to search youtube to see what others had done. Among others I found mrpete222 has 3 videos for his dynamo build. I learned a couple of things from him, the most important being he used a Bridgeport (because he has one) and an Atlas lathe. The other builders used larger machines too. I have Sherline machines so I could not use many of their holding techniques.

I studied the diagrams and measured the castings to decide where to start and figure out how to hold them. For me the logical choice for alignment of the frame casting's features are the two mounting lugs that would secure the dynamo to a platform. I wanted the tops of the lugs about the same height and parallel to the bottom surface. Once machined the bottom would become the master surface. To accomplish this I set the casting on a pair of 123 blocks as shown and gently filed the high spots from the top sides until it did not rock, then clamped it to the mill table again using the blocks. It's at an angle because the casting was 1 5/8" end to end and the t-slots on the table are only 1 1/2" between centers. It worked ok. The only problem I had with the setup was the back block came in contact with the mill column. A better setup would have been on a tooling plate, which I had at the time in a box.

For the ends I faced the boss for the lifting ring, found the center of that and marked it with a punch. Then I measured and marked half the finshed length to each end from that mark. After that it was secured in the vise. I used the straightest edge of the casting against a square to find the first end. Then it was just flipped over for the other end.