About MEM > Introduce Yourself

Greetings from Justin at the Komoka Railway Museum

(1/2) > >>

justinKRM:
Hi there,

I hail from Komoka where I am a member of the local railway museum. For the last 5 years I have been running the live steam locomotive that my grandfather built in South Africa. I have finally been able to get the equipment to start a workshop (Lathe, drill press, bandsaw & power hacksaw). My goal is to construct my own steam locomotive.

I plan to start with simple projects to start learning the skills and then work my way up to the goal. I have non previous machining experience (software engineer) but am reasonably handy and one of the other members is a machinst by trade and will be able to help me along the way. I discovered this forum while hunting for ideas for which locomotive to build.

I'd love to build CN 6060 as i grew up near 6063 which is nearly identical, but it is likely too ambitious for a first locomotive. i'm really hoping to build a canadian locomotive but have not had much luck finding plans for one.

My plan is to work up in complexity gradually:
1) start with rolling stock
2) build a battery operated "diesel" (F-unit)
3) build the steam locomotive
4) build 6060!?

Great to meet you all.

Here is a video of the first time we ran my grandfathers locomotive (it hadn't run in 30+ years): [youtube1]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n7ZDvSdHCIk&list=PLpQKmmdr-fkbxPgq8-Y7xAhzgMnSIC2js[/youtube1]

crueby:
Welcome!
Lots of great info here, and great people.

Kim:
Hi Justin,
Welcome to the forum!

Yeah, the CN6060 does look like a big project, but a really nice one for sure!  I think your strategy of working your way up sounds like a pretty solid idea.  But people have been known to build some pretty complex stuff as a first project.  But I think it really does help to get some experience before you tackle the really big things.  Just my thoughts.

Anyway, welcome!  Looking forward to seeing your builds!

Kim

cnr6400: