Author Topic: DC Electric Motors 101  (Read 4523 times)

Offline MJM460

• Melbourne, Australia
Re: DC Electric Motors 101
« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2021, 01:00:42 PM »
Hi Allen, I hope others will also chip in.  For my part, difference between brushed and brushless would be great.  Personally I have very little knowledge of brushless motors so would appreciate your explanation there.

I was interested in your comment the Kt = 1/Kv.  That seemingly simple relationship must have an explanation that eludes me.

Also, I was interested in the calculation of efficiency from the basic parameters as you described.  This seems to open the possibility of using a motor as a generator to measure an engine power output, an application where an estimate of motor efficiency is clearly required.  Or do parameters change when the motor is being driven as a generator?  I probably skipped a step or two there.

No worries about the three phase.  I was thinking it might be helpful for those considering three phase motors for variable speed on their machines.  The characteristics of the three phase motors might help understanding even without too much theory.

MJM460

The more I learn, the more I find that I still have to learn!

Offline Allen Smithee

• Mordor, Middle Earth
« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2021, 02:38:47 PM »
Hi Allen, I hope others will also chip in.  For my part, difference between brushed and brushless would be great.  Personally I have very little knowledge of brushless motors so would appreciate your explanation there.

OK, it's on the list

I was interested in your comment the Kt = 1/Kv.  That seemingly simple relationship must have an explanation that eludes me.