Author Topic: Jon from SW UK  (Read 1245 times)

Offline Nobby Sideways

Jon from SW UK
« on: May 26, 2021, 07:23:38 PM »
Good Afternoon, my name is Jon and I come from the South West of England on the Dorset/Wiltshire border. I'm a Military Flight Simulator engineer, coming from a background of aircraft flight testing as a Flight Test Instrumentation engineer with a bit of motorsport thrown in.

I'm primarily interested in steam engines and older internal combustion engines. I'd love to build something like a scale Merlin Engine one day but will probably content myself with small steam engines.

I've recently completed a Martin Evans "William" in 3.5" gauge which I steam at my local MES whenever possible (WWSME near Westbury, Wiltshire). This locomotive I purchased half-complete from a lady in Wales whose father started it but became discouraged by some of the feedback he received at his MES so stuck with Traction engines, and passed away with it covered in dust under the stairs. I've learned a lot from machining up all the fittings, plumbing, and improving the motionwork, which hopefully will aid me with the completion of my 3.5" Britannia (to LBSC's drawings). I am lucky enough to have my grandfathers old ML7 and a Seig Mill to play with.

My first build was a Stuart 10H; I quite like horizontal steam engines. I'm currently sketching up a design for a slide valve twin cylinder slide valve engine with a flywheel between the cylinders, and potentially a vertical boiler to power it. My aim is to make an engine that will run at a very low speed, or with enough torque to run something interesting.

Thanks for reading,

Jon.

Offline Dave Otto

• Boise, Idaho USA
    • Photo Bucket
Re: Jon from SW UK
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2021, 07:43:31 PM »
Hi Jon
Welcome to MEM!

Dave

Online Vixen

• Hampshire UK
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2021, 07:49:53 PM »
Hello Jon

Another welcome to the MEM forum

Mike
It is the journey that matters, not the destination