Author Topic: True Engineering Skill  (Read 2591 times)

Offline RReid

• Northern California
Re: True Engineering Skill
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2021, 11:52:13 PM »
But the most important factor to find a really good machinist is to find one that does machining at home....

Which is why, when I was a Research Engineer in a University setting, I used to always ask about hobbies when interviewing prospective hires. And not just potential machinists, the idea applies to many skill sets. When I moved into a corporate setting, the HR people told me in no uncertain terms that those questions were not allowed. Something about violating Equal Opportunity laws in ways I never could understand.
Regards,
Ron

Offline tvoght

• Indiana
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2021, 12:58:13 AM »
... I was a problem solver , most people I have worked with were 'fellow workers" and "don't get paid ! " to solve problems when you ask them....in my experience. There was no such word as 'Can't" in my vocabulary . my employers knew it and took advantage , which was fine ....
I'm a different kind of engineer (software), but some principles are universal.
The guy who doesn't know the word "Can't" ends up with a lot of tough assignments. In other words, he is never bored. He always has interesting things on his plate. Oh sure, some of the tasks are real stinkers with no real solution, but when he gives it his best shot and fails, he's recognized for the attempt instead of being given a demerit.

The "don't get paid for that" guys get all the boring drudge work.

--Tim

Offline crueby

• Rochester NY
« Reply #17 on: May 11, 2021, 01:05:15 AM »
... I was a problem solver , most people I have worked with were 'fellow workers" and "don't get paid ! " to solve problems when you ask them....in my experience. There was no such word as 'Can't" in my vocabulary . my employers knew it and took advantage , which was fine ....
I'm a different kind of engineer (software), but some principles are universal.