Author Topic: Ringbom 1: A Ringbom Stirling Engine  (Read 2072 times)

Offline tvoght

• Indiana
Ringbom 1: A Ringbom Stirling Engine
« on: May 02, 2021, 12:10:43 AM »
Ringbom One is a Ringbom Stirling I designed myself. I have been campaigning it at my favorite expositions since perhaps 2018 (with some teething problems in that first year), but this is the first time I've shown it here.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbbSIu0Qswc" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbbSIu0Qswc</a>

For those wondering, the displacer of a Ringbom Stirling is not driven by a mechanical linkage, but by pressure variations within the engine. The video shows some unusual characteristics of such an engine.
A Ringbom is slightly harder to design than one with a mechanically linked displacer because the expected pressure variations must be at least estimated, and the area of the displacer rod and mass of the displacer figure significantly in the performance of the engine.

What I found was that a Ringbom is also much more difficult to troubleshoot when things aren't going right. The lack of a mechanical displacer linkage means that one can never be quite sure where the displacer is positioned at any given time during the engine cycle. I struggled for months with a problem that finally turned out to be frictional stick points between the displacer rod and its bushing. The symptoms I saw did not do much to point me to the root cause.  Having finally worked that out, it is actually a fine running engine.
--Tim

Offline gldavison

• Tarkio, Mo.
Re: Ringbom 1: A Ringbom Stirling Engine
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2021, 01:34:56 AM »
Excellent job Tim, and a very good runner too.

Gary
Gary
Windows 10 & 11, Alibre Design Pro V27, IntelliCADPro6, CamBam, Mach4, 3D Printers, Cetus, Anet ET5 X
15" South Bend, 10" Logan lathe, Grizzly square column mill, CNC router & Hot wire cutter. Lagun FTV-1 knee mill, Sherline mill & lathe

Offline Dave Otto

• Boise, Idaho USA