Author Topic: Hit and miss engine  (Read 1975 times)

Offline ducati2242

Hit and miss engine
« on: March 27, 2021, 01:45:31 PM »
This is my first build it has taken me about 6 weeks on and off to get it to here . I don't seem to be able to get it to run any faster than this and I haven't fixed the hit and miss yet . Do you think it is running fast enough or do you think I need to work on the carburettor to get it running faster . Thanks Guy
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nK71YyLesgI" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nK71YyLesgI</a>

Offline michaelr

Re: Hit and miss engine
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2021, 03:09:51 PM »
If that was my engine I would be very happy with the way it is running, once the governor is adjusted for Hit and Miss running it will be even better, it's not a racing engine I think it's running at a reasonable speed.
Mike.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2021, 03:13:12 PM by michaelr »

Offline Dave Otto

• Boise, Idaho USA
    • Photo Bucket
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2021, 05:34:08 PM »
That is running pretty well, I sure don't see any need for it to go faster.
But I do prefer slow running engines.

Dave

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2021, 09:33:13 PM »
That is an excellent speed for an open crank hit and miss engine. They were never intended to run fast.

Offline ducati2242

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2021, 11:21:30 PM »
Thanks for the replies . I will start to dial in the hit and miss next .

Offline collbee

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2021, 04:03:10 AM »
I am very much impressed with your engine and wish I could build to the same quality.  :praise2: