Author Topic: 1" Bore x 1" Stroke Vertical I.C.  (Read 22075 times)

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
1" Bore x 1" Stroke Vertical I.C.
« on: January 26, 2021, 10:00:24 PM »
Hi Everyone---Hope your new year is going well, so far. I fell on the ice in my driveway just after Christmas and hurt my back. Between the pain from that, and my arthritis (which is exceptionally bad this year), I've had a very quiet January. Finally, today, out of boredom I sat down at my computer and started importing files from previous engines to see what would be involved in another i.c. engine. I have never built an engine before with a vertically split crank-case, so after looking at some really lovely examples on the forums, I've started putting things together on cad. I enjoy a quiet day designing, and this is what has turned up so far. Nothing really new or exciting here, but I like to see an engine coming together. I have no cnc here, just manual machinery, so that's what my engine will be based on, build-wise.---Brian

Offline crueby

• Rochester NY
Re: 1" Bore x 1" Stroke Vertical I.C.
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2021, 11:25:00 PM »
Oboyoboy! Another Brian build to watch! 

Hope your back recovers well, falls on ice are nasty.

Offline Art K

• Madison, Wisconsin USA
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2021, 01:00:35 AM »
Brian,
Sorry to hear that your back is out of joint, it can be painful. Good to see you starting on another engine. looks to be an interesting one.
Art
"The beautiful thing about learning is that no one can take it away from you" B.B. King

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2021, 05:41:30 PM »
I spent this morning sussing out the cylinder head and the valve train. It looks good to me right now, so I'll go eat some lunch and then see if it still pleases me when I come back this afternoon.

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2021, 08:24:42 PM »