Engines > From Plans

JC attempts the MEM Corliss

<< < (30/43) > >>

derekwarner:
JC...thinking that you have 4 of the linkage adjustments to achieve......

I have zero knowledge in the installation of Corliss valving, so does the geometric orientation provide correct timing?, or does each of the 4 valve spools require any +/- positioning?

If you used the same bolt pitch  [0.3P] as the M1.4 diameter bolts as the linkage rod, would 0.3P [x .5= 0.015mm per 180 degrees] allow sufficient alignment?....or would you have slip fit & solder both ends of the connecting rod to ensure absolute accuracy in the timing of the arm?

Derek

JCvdW:
Derek, I would think that if all components are accurate, that geometric orientation should provide correct timing. But I expect that in my case I will have to make small adjustments.

On real Corliss valves, the linkages are adjustable, and your suggestion makes for a more realistic model. In fact, this is also how it is shown on the plans. But making adjustable linkages seems really difficult. Hence the attempt to make adjustable valve levers instead.

I started off the adjustable levers by squaring off two pieces of 303 stainless steel.

The ears were milled, drilled and then rounded off on the rotary table. The four yaw chuck on the rotary table allows for easy adjustment of the pivot point.

The M3 holes for the valve stems and the M2 threaded holes for the connecting rods were then drilled and tapped, and rounded on the rotary table.

The 0.5mm slots for the ears were then cut on the lathe. The lever was clamped in a tool holder, with the slitting saw in the four yaw chuck. This way the saw could be accurately centred using the lathe DRO.

The angled sides were then set and milled on the rotary table.

The levers were then separated and the connecting rod side also rounded on the rotary table.