Author Topic: Ingar-RT618 Surface Grinder (Boyar Schultz clone)  (Read 5142 times)

Offline john mills

Re: Ingar-RT618 Surface Grinder (Boyar Schultz clone)
« Reply #15 on: August 05, 2020, 11:05:48 AM »
you say you get a better wheel dress with a small single point diamond ,what were you trying before . I would think it is more important to have a sharp corner the size needs to be big enough to hold together in its mount .
when i ground crank shafts the wheel was quite hard to hold the corner radius the diamond needed to be a good size Repco i worked for in there book on engine reconditioning say the diamond for that purpose should be
3  to 5 carrots  at one time the forman lost my diamond and got a replacement which was far too small all i did was grind flats on the diamond .for your smaller machine smaller would be fine  the main thing is to keep positioning the point so to keep a sharp corner the size should not matter it depends on what you can pay for.
i am no expert on diamonds i don't know if there are different  grades .bigger should not matter as long as you can keep wearing a sharp corner to use an it holds it shape to get the wheel dressed.
     John

Offline nj111

« Reply #16 on: August 05, 2020, 11:22:34 AM »
I think it was previously around 1 carat dressing a 1/2" wide wheel 8" diameter for the Jones and Shipman.  I must have read somewhere not to use too large a diamond, I forget where though!  If you've been grinding crankshafts then you will most probably have forgotten more than I will ever know about grinding!  Good to have your input here John.
Nick

Offline john mills

« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2020, 01:53:35 PM »