Author Topic: 3D printer - cheap as chips  (Read 21023 times)

Offline gerritv

• St Catharines, ON
Re: 3D printer - cheap as chips
« Reply #105 on: January 15, 2020, 12:34:40 PM »
As someone "who would never want to own one" and "would find no use for one"; I have been following this thread with unexpected interest. It certainly seems that with a bit of extra work, it is quite possible to make a 70 quid printer do something which could be useful (but I am still unsure what that something useful may be).

I am starting to think that £70  may be a cheep as chips way to find out. Besides it could be an incentive to get on and learn 3D CAD. I have been promising to do that for a couple of years but have still to make the start.

So a few simple questions:

a) Is it clean and smell free for use in the office or is it best in the workshop?
b) Where does the "slicer" software reside? In the printer or in the PC?
c) Does the printer need to be connected to the PC, or is it stand alone?

Mike
I can vouch for the usefulness in the shop. I received my Ender3 Pro as a birthday present this past July. A 1kg roll of filament later, the only 2 frivolous items printed have been 2 whistles and 2 cookie cutters. Everything else has been 'for a purpose'. I will create a thread with photos of my output. Personally the device has released a lot of creativity in that I am moving ahead on things that would have been risky (in time spent) or challenging (due to equipment limitations) otherwise.
Flex hose segments, dust collector for grinder, brackets for lathe shelf, right angle viewer for grinder, reproduction displays for a 1958 Univac II console, USB cable brackets, etc.

Cura or whatever slicer you use runs on a PC, Mac and Linux. Most printers have a SD card slot allowing printer to be used standalone. I ended up using a Raspi loaded with Repetier Host to run the printer, lets me monitor progress from upstairs. Watching these devices is hypnotic, much like watching a shaper. :-)