Author Topic: Chris's Build of a Stanley 735 Engine  (Read 44309 times)

Online crueby

• Rochester NY
Re: Chris's Build of a Stanley 735 Engine
« Reply #150 on: January 16, 2020, 12:05:49 AM »
I think the naming convention is spools in hydraulic valves, piston valves for steam. Also pi$$ed-on valves for the leaky ones I have made before I learned the tricks about PTFE rings on piston valves, and radii at window corners in port openings on sleeves for piston valves.   ::) :lolb:
I like the leaky valve name!

On the valves for this engine, the original used steel rings, I was thinking of not using any since o rings and such would tend to get cut by the openings, and they would need to be in pairs to work right with the openings designed for the original. Had not thought about PTFE rings though. Would they work better for going past the openings? They used a row of 'windows' around the circumference, rectangular with rounded corners. I have no experience with that kind of setup, was just going to use a bronze piston (with two sections riding on the sleeve inner wall, thinner above/below/between them to allow steam/air flow). Always an issue to get a decent enough seal while allowing it to move, thats why I like slide valves better for most engines. The sleeve ID will only be around 3/8" or so, the ports are .078" tall as scaled from the original.

Offline Johnmcc69

• Erie Pa., USA
« Reply #151 on: January 16, 2020, 02:35:55 AM »
 :ThumbsUp:
 Looking good Chris!
 Why did you use the metric (Not that there's anything wrong with
 that... 8) ) threads on the cylinders & caps? Did the size just work out better?

John

Online crueby

• Rochester NY
« Reply #152 on: January 16, 2020, 03:18:32 AM »
:ThumbsUp:
 Looking good Chris!
 Why did you use the metric (Not that there's anything wrong with
 that... 8) ) threads on the cylinders & caps? Did the size just work out better?

John
Hi John,