Author Topic: Hello from Siberia (Minnesota)  (Read 1362 times)

Offline Archimedes

Hello from Siberia (Minnesota)
« on: December 16, 2019, 01:43:03 AM »
Hi everyone!  :)

I was brought to this site by Youtube. I was lurking here for a while and decided to introduce myself. I love engines of all types, but I particularly love working miniature engines. Unfortunately, for me, I can never build one myself due to a disability.  At least, I am happy that I am able to do 3D modeling and CAD work.  I want to design my own 12 cylinder boxer engine sometime in the future.  By the way, If anyone wants any help turning something into a 3D file, please let me know.

I have been a "gearhead" for as long as I can remember. I'm not really surprised, since my father was a certified mechanic for more than 40 years. I studied electrical engineering and computer science but would I go into mechanical engineering if I ever went back to school. I don't relish the idea of doing that at the age of 48 :old:. I don’t really need a ME degree anyway. I’m looking forward to learning as much as I can from this site and the community of model engine enthusiasts. Thanks!   :cheers:

Offline steam guy willy

Re: Hello from Siberia (Minnesota)
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2019, 02:00:24 AM »
Hi, Archimedes, welcome to the site and there is lots to look at here..  perhaps you could get lots of CNC equipment so you only have to press buttons to make stuff.. looking forward to further posts..

Willy.

Offline Jo

• Administrator
  • Hampshire, england.
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2019, 07:26:38 AM »
 :hi:

At least, I am happy that I am able to do 3D modeling and CAD work.  I want to design my own 12 cylinder boxer engine sometime in the future. 

8) Virtual model engine making counts as making model engines. We would like to see any of your "builds" so far :)

Jo
Enjoyment is more important than achievement.

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures