Author Topic: Custom Belleville (conical) washers  (Read 1448 times)

Offline bent

• Wet side of Washington State, USA
Custom Belleville (conical) washers
« on: July 26, 2019, 11:21:52 PM »
Haven't had time to post here much, because ... life.  So, I work as an engineer for a living.  An assembly that I inherited many years ago, from a colleague, uses a stack of Belleville washers to preload some parts on a shaft.  The Bellevilles were chosen from a large national shop that had something in stock that was "close enough".  Except they aren't/weren't - when you do the tolerance stack analysis, you end up needing to put either 3 or 4 of them in an assembly, which requires a lot of futzing around in the production shop.  And recently, the Belleville shop had a problem getting the parts heat treated, and so the parts have been delayed, for over a month now, which is holding up an order.

So, I spent some time looking for alternatives.  Doing the math from the Roark's formulas, we want a stainless washer, somewhere between 0.03 and 0.04 thick, with a 1.53 i.d. and a 2.1 to 2.4 o.d. with about a .120 overall height.  And we don't really need to heat treat them, standard 300 series stainless should work.  But regardless, these new design springs are going to be custom, because nobody makes them in anything close to those sizes.  And the tooling charges, plus minimum order quantities, puts the cost up over $1500 for 50 to 100 pieces (roughly a 1 year supply for us).