Author Topic: Using 3D printer to make casting patterns  (Read 2644 times)

Offline chucketn

• East TN, USA
Re: Using 3D printer to make casting patterns
« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2019, 11:48:54 PM »
Yes, Jim, Anet A8 printer. I've had it since a year ago last May. I don't have anyone close that shares my interest in casting, machining, or 3d printing. Thus I'm mostly self taught with the help of numerous forums and youtube vids of course.
You are me 18 months ago. so, if you need help, I'm here.

Online Dave Otto

• Boise, Idaho USA
    • Photo Bucket
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2019, 07:03:45 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QghKCH-ihT0" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QghKCH-ihT0</a>

This video might give you an idea what is possible.

Dave

Online steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2019, 11:11:27 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QghKCH-ihT0" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QghKCH-ihT0</a>

This video might give you an idea what is possible.

Dave

Match plates make it all so much easier...but are a bit more work.
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Offline AOG

« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2019, 04:24:42 AM »
Match plates should be doable on a 3D printer. With a big enough printer you can split the pattern in mesh mixer add a solid plane to be the match plate and print the whole thing in one piece.

Tony

Online Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2019, 07:13:14 AM »
may be easier to glue the printed patterns to a flat board rather than print the board. It would make it easier to refine the surface of the print as you can get to the edges easier and means you don't need a printer with such a big work envelope.

You could still print holes in the two halves so that they can be located on the board and even put more than one part on the board.