Author Topic: Using 3D printer to make casting patterns  (Read 2714 times)

Offline Bearcar1

• Chicagoland Area, USA
Using 3D printer to make casting patterns
« on: January 22, 2019, 07:30:20 PM »
 I am awaiting the arrival of a new 3D printer. Now I have no experience with one but found a good deal I could not pass up and pulled the trigger. My initial thoughts are to use it to produce casting patterns for some of our model engines. Has anyone else had the same thoughts? And if anyone here has actually done this, what were the results? Difficulties? I'd like to to hear them.

BC1
Jim

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
Re: Using 3D printer to make casting patterns
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2019, 07:44:10 PM »
I am of a similar mind.   I also have a printer that I am considering using in this way.     Yhere is printable wax available.    So lots to talk about as far as methods.
Dave
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Online Vixen

• Hampshire UK
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2019, 07:54:03 PM »
Jim, Dave,

Will you be able to make a 3D print of your casting pattern with all the required draft angles and a sufficiently smooth surface to allow them to be withdrawn from the sand mould box?

Just thinking out loud

Mike

It is the journey that matters, not the destination

Sometimes, it can be a long and winding road

Offline Bearcar1

• Chicagoland Area, USA
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2019, 08:01:11 PM »
Mike,

Being new to this technology, I can't say for certain, but see no reason to think that any required draft angles could not be achieved. The CAD programs required to make the code will be another challenge but one that is doable. As far as the surfaces of the molds being smooth, yes. I have seen pieces that were done and the texture was smooth as glass. There is a great deal of learning involved and it will be fun. Limitless possibilities as it it were.

BC1
Jim

Offline Shiroth