Author Topic: Pennsylvania A3 Switcher (Kozo)  (Read 343363 times)

Online Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
Re: Pennsylvania A3 Switcher (Kozo)
« Reply #105 on: December 15, 2018, 10:45:47 PM »
Chapter 2.2, Tender Axles start about halfway down this post.

It’s been a while since my last update, but I have made some progress.  A few weeks ago, I started painting the tender wheels.  I did a couple of coats of primer, then painted them red.  It’s been pretty cold out in my shop lately, so it takes a while for the paint to dry! 

Today, I took the tape off.  And they seem to have turned out pretty well.

One of the things Kozo shows, is gluing sandpaper to a piece of plywood, then holding that flat against the wheels with the tail stock to clean up the ends of the wheels.
Worked a treat!

And it made some cool patterns on the sandpaper too! :)

After doing all the ‘front’ side of the wheels, I flipped them around and sanded up the backside in the same way.

And here’s all eight of them, half upside down, and half right side up.

Chapter 2.2 Tender Axles

Next, I cut four chunks of 3/8” 12L14 and faced it off to exactly 4.750”.  Then using the collet chuck, I made a few steps in each end like this. The bigger step (5/16”) is for the wheel, and the smaller step (1/4”) will go in the bearing in the Journal Box.

All four of the axels completed.

And here’s the current family shot.

Not much of a locomotive yet, but I’ll get there. One step at a time.  And this, my friends, officially completes my first step in Kozo’s book!  Only 34 or so to go!  (and this was an absurdly easy one! ::) )

Thanks for stopping by!
Kim
« Last Edit: February 25, 2019, 12:55:46 AM by Kim »

Online crueby

• Rochester NY
« Reply #106 on: December 15, 2018, 10:50:12 PM »
That really changed the look.

:popcorn: :ThumbsUp:

Offline Ye-Ole Steam Dude

• Deep East Texas on Sam Rayburn Lake
« Reply #107 on: December 15, 2018, 10:50:33 PM »
Hello Kim,