Author Topic: Insert Boring Bars - any hints or tips please?  (Read 5907 times)

Offline propforward

• MN, USA
Insert Boring Bars - any hints or tips please?
« on: August 31, 2018, 01:22:05 AM »
Can anyone give me some advice on what to look for in boring bars that use inserts?

I have not had much luck with my cheap set of brazed carbide boring bars. I haven't given up with that, but I want to be able to machine smaller bores than my set will allow, so I was looking around for small boring bars sets and found this:

https://www.travers.com/everede-set-1-steel-boring-bar-set-3-different-316oslash-34oslash-with-cdcd-07-cvm2-coated-inserts-right-hand/p/24-570-786/

It looks like a good, general purpose set, that will cover a good range of model engineering bores.

Comments, thoughts? I have zero experience of insert tools. I grind my own HSS tools for external machining - works plenty well enough, but I need something a bit better for boring.
Stuart

Forging ahead regardless.

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
Re: Insert Boring Bars - any hints or tips please?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2018, 02:02:48 AM »
Well the description say 3 boring bars, the picture shows four but also only lists two diameters. Curious as to what is actually included :thinking:

Bill

Edit: what minimum and maximum bore sizes do you contemplate making over time?

Offline zeeprogrammer

• West Chester, PA, USA
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2018, 02:36:13 AM »
A bit pricey for me but I'm interested in seeing what you find out.

I'd bought an accusize off amazon and it's done what I want but I'm still learning.
Keep in mind...I have near 0 experience with such things.
I've had more 'luck' with cheapo carbide I got from LMS.

If you're thinking to try index versus carbide...maybe go for something cheaper or smaller and try it out?

I do like index for turning/facing but others may argue that other cutters are better.

I'm no help. I know.