Author Topic: Educating the "Youngin's"  (Read 5692 times)

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
Re: Educating the "Youngin's"
« Reply #45 on: August 13, 2018, 04:54:22 PM »
In an attempt to put some cheer into this thread, I used to be an Imagineering Tutor - after school for 10-11 year olds. It was always oversubscribed because the children learned to build model aeroplanes, Morse code buzzers, single transistor radios (with earbuds!). Have a look at their website :-

https://imagineering.org.uk/clubs/information

The story I have to tell was told by an amazed father at one parent's evening. His little girl was" helping" him with some DIY project and he asked her to hand him a screwdriver. She replied "Do you want it for a crosshead or a slotted screw?"

It is real surprising how much information young minds can absorb but you have to spend the time with them.

Ian

It's amazing isn't it?    A mind is like a parachute.   It only works when it's open!   I'm happy to state, that this youngin is coming around.   He likes the nuts and bolts, and asks why a lot.    Good for him!....

Dave
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
« Reply #46 on: August 13, 2018, 06:09:27 PM »
 Great Dave!!! You got through to him. I had an email from a former advisee this morning ( the school email is still active) wondering why he has a hold and can't register for classes which begin next monday :ShakeHead:. As I recall he never finalized a plan for my approval last spring. He also missed/ignored the email back in May noting my retirement and assigning him a new advisor.  :ShakeHead: :ShakeHead:.

Some you get through to, some just never get it. If I had had one I would have emailed him back an application for Mc Donald's.

Bill
« Last Edit: August 13, 2018, 06:20:04 PM by b.lindsey »

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator