Author Topic: 1/4 Scale Ford Cosworth DFV  (Read 8875 times)

Offline JonC

1/4 Scale Ford Cosworth DFV
« on: July 29, 2018, 09:09:59 PM »
Hi all,

I have been a member since 2015 and have viewed some absolutely incredible builds on this site. The skill and dedication shown by people has been amazing and an inspiration for me to start my own project.

My interest is my passion for Formula 1 racing through the 1970's and 80's and the engine that powered most of the teams through this period, the Ford Cosworth DFV.

Being the most successful engine in F1 history it has always surprised me that no-one has ever built a proper scale model as a tribute to this incredible engine, it's designer and the brave drivers who it powered to victory and so I thought I would try to do something of my own to address this.

I would like to say at this stage that although I am an engineer and run an engineering company for my work, I have never been involved with any model engineering projects and so I'm starting literally from scratch on this. Also it was never my intention to post any of the work I have done on here but I have been asked to do so by another member who thinks that it might be of interest to others.

In no way does anything I have done so far, compare or come anywhere near to the work carried out by the members on this website.

I will start the explanation of the journey so far soon.

thanks
It's not what you know, it's not who you know.
It's what you know about who you know

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
Re: 1/4 Scale Ford Cosworth DFV
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2018, 09:27:04 PM »
Welcome Jon

Glad you have a passion for this..so I'll take that first post as your introduction.

Dave
…..and do a search on 917.....  8)
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Offline Art K

• Madison, Wisconsin USA
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2018, 09:50:40 PM »
Jon,