Author Topic: Hello from Idaho  (Read 1247 times)

Offline num1bryanp

Hello from Idaho
« on: July 25, 2018, 05:02:44 AM »
Hello Makers,

I was an electronics tech, software guy, and project manager for Hewlett Packard's Storage Division for 25 years. After the worldwide group I was part of got told to hit the road, I have spent the last 7 years just working part-time fixing computers and some oddball handyman work. Last week it was updating a house to LED lighting and working on a broken CNC lathe. It does not bring in the big bucks but the diversity is far better than being a project manager with no authority. My dad was a Journeyman Machinist with Boeing and luckily some of that knowledge has rubbed off on me.

I was on the web looking for plans on how to build a 1/6 size 1900's Anzani 3 cylinder fan radial, for a 1/6 scale Bleriot RC plane I am starting.

I have been flying RC planes since 1975 and moved to electric powered planes for over 13 years now, but a Bleriot needs the look and sound of a real gas motor. After finding your webpage and reading about others building these wonderful radial motors, I am excited that there may be CAD/Drawing files around that I can use to build a working motor.

I hope this does not make me a sinner, but in my case, the motor would not need to exactly scale, therefore I would not need custom sand casting. I would just mill the motor body out of a block, and if it works I could soften the outer surface to give the casting look. I would also be open to plug timing from the crank using maybe a hall effect sensor and a small controller. If I could use a modern carburetor it would be nice, and of course, using any proven ideas for the mechanics that would help simplify the motor would be greatly appreciated!