Author Topic: Commander Lubricator  (Read 10355 times)

Online Jo

• Administrator
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Commander Lubricator
« Reply #30 on: July 15, 2018, 09:10:00 PM »
Strangely some of the colonies have totally accepted metric and measure speed and distance in Km but here in the UK good old miles still prevail.

Yes the cost of replacing all the road signs like so many things in life was too much for the UK Government  ::) But they still chose to put £0.5795 tax on per litre of fuel + Vat @20% rather than quoting it as £2.63 + Vat per gallon which sounds more expensive. How many of us measure km per litre rather than miles per gallon for our cars?  :old:  :old:

The measurement of science is metric and if you recall I am a scientist  ;)

Jo
Enjoyment is more important than achievement.

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
« Reply #31 on: July 15, 2018, 10:34:00 PM »
Strangely some of the colonies have totally accepted metric and measure speed and distance in Km but here in the UK good old miles still prevail.

Yes the cost of replacing all the road signs like so many things in life was too much for the UK Government  ::) But they still chose to put £0.5795 tax on per litre of fuel + Vat @20% rather than quoting it as £2.63 + Vat per gallon which sounds more expensive. How many of us measure km per litre rather than miles per gallon for our cars?  :old:  :old:

The measurement of science is metric and if you recall I am a scientist  ;)

Jo

No ...you're a RETIRED scientist...….
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Online Jo

• Administrator
  • Hampshire, england.
« Reply #32 on: July 16, 2018, 06:19:23 AM »
No ...you're a RETIRED scientist...….

Not yet  :(

Jo

Offline Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
« Reply #33 on: July 16, 2018, 07:03:39 AM »
Does that include NASA scientists :LittleDevil:

Online Jo

• Administrator
  • Hampshire, england.
« Reply #34 on: July 16, 2018, 07:20:17 AM »