Author Topic: Mill Vise From Morrison & Marvin Castings  (Read 23008 times)

Offline Dave Otto

• Boise, Idaho USA
    • Photo Bucket
Mill Vise From Morrison & Marvin Castings
« on: June 24, 2018, 11:56:56 PM »
One day working in the shop, not long after completing the 3d CAD models and drawings for the Morrison & Marvin “Model Builders Vise” I received a package in the mail. It appeared to be just a typical package but when I opened it I realized my life was going complicated for a while.

Inside were several beautifully made wax patterns of complex, unusual shapes. There were some hand sketches included but they did not help much. The sketches had dimensions larger than the patterns? Closer inspection revealed the logo of Morrison & Marvin on two of the patterns, so at least I knew where they came from.

I studied the lines and numbers and realized I must have the full size dimensions and this was a quarter scale model. Then knowing Morrison & Marvin castings are often combined to save foundry costs and provide a chucking lug I realized I was looking at a one quarter size Kurt Style Mill Vise. The number cast in the bottom "D-15" must indicate the size was 1.5", quarter size of a 6"

I called my friend Roland Morrison of Morrison & Marvin Engine Works and he told me I already had the plans sitting on my mill. He did send me some SurfCAM files that Marvin Hedberg had used to cut the molds. Unfortunately Marvin uses a older version of SurfCAM that is not compatible with the newer solid modeling programs.

Now the project was not only to machine the castings when they arrived but make working drawings so all the parts would fit. To do this, 3d CAD models of all the vise parts needed to be created and assembled.