Author Topic: Designing steam engines-oscillators specifically  (Read 4352 times)

Offline chucketn

• East TN, USA
Designing steam engines-oscillators specifically
« on: June 25, 2018, 09:42:04 PM »
I am studying and experimenting with designing my own steam engine. I’’m starting with Oscillators. Specifically a double cylinder, double acting.
A member on another forum posted a link to an Ocillator simulator program, available here, that simulates simple single and double acting oscillator steam engines. It’s a neat program, and I learned a lot from it.
One thing that I haven’t been able to figure out is whether the piston should cover, not cover, or cover half the port openings at the top or bottom of it’s stroke. I assume(and you know what that does) it has something to do with timing and ‘cutoff’ in engines run on steam, but I don’t yet have a boiler, and will be running mine on compressed air.
The above mentioned simulator shows  the piston covering half the port in one engine and not covering the ports I another. Can someone explain the difference or wherewithal of the piston covering, half covering, or not covering the port?

Offline crueby

• Rochester NY
Re: Designing steam engines-oscillators specifically
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 09:52:53 PM »
Im the ones I've built the piston did not cover the ports at all, just depended on the motion of the cylinder across the plate to connect/disconnect the holes as it wobbles.
Interesting question....   :thinking:

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 10:03:12 PM »
On the oscillating engine that I just posted a thread on building, the piston is 0.433" thick and it completely covers the ports. The ports in the cylinder which align with the ports in the frame underneath are both out near the end of the piston travel and are covered completely by the piston.

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2018, 10:42:20 PM »