Author Topic: hello from WV  (Read 4250 times)

Offline atkinson582

hello from WV
« on: February 06, 2018, 08:35:58 PM »
hello all,

my name is Dave and i am completely new at this hobby (entry level). ive always been interested in this kind of stuff and have finally just bought a new LMS 7 x 16 lathe and even ordered my first engine kit from LMS the oscillating steam engine. i still have to buy lots of tools before i can even start on it like drill bit sets, center punch, surface plate, height gauge, reamers, end mills .... the list goes on and on lol. I'm learning a lot by just reading but i wish i could find some classes close to me that i could go to for the beginner. i also want to buy a mill but i really don't know what size i will need. my goal is to someday be able to build engines like the pee wee v4 or the little demon v8, can anyone tell me what size mill they used if they built one of those engines? I'm looking forward to posting my first engine build as soon as i get all the tools needed.

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
Re: hello from WV
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 08:53:27 PM »
Hi Dave and welcome!  It's difficult to say what resources may be available in your specific location but one thing that may help is to check with the local community college for basic machining classes and see if they are available at at a time that fits your schedule.  Will look forward to an eventual build log on that first project. It is a wonderful hobby and an equally great group of folks here ready to help answer questions. Fair warning though, its highly addictive but just as much fun!!

Bill

Offline zeeprogrammer

• West Chester, PA, USA
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 11:16:04 PM »
Welcome to the forum Dave.
It sounds like you are where I was just a few years ago.
I bought a 7x12 mini-lathe and a casting kit of an oscillating engine.
This forum was key (I mean KEY) to my success.