Author Topic: Air compressor tank?  (Read 2851 times)

Offline tinkerer

Air compressor tank?
« on: January 03, 2018, 02:35:04 AM »
Has any one built a boiler out of an air compressor tank? Seems like a good candidate for a starting point. Since you're already dealing with a pressure vessel that was designed to operate about 120lbs pressure (setting for pop offs on most small tanks). Seems like it would be an easy (& probably safe) conversion. I'm new to this stuff & I'm sure there may be considerations I am not aware of or haven't thought of.
You never know what you can do, till you try. Don't be afraid to try & fail. We learn more from our failures than our successes.

Offline crueby

• Rochester NY
Re: Air compressor tank?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2018, 02:52:38 AM »
Never seen it done, a lot would depend on what metal its made of, pressure by itself is one thing, heat is something else on top of that. Plus corrosion issues?

Offline 10KPete

• Nordland, WA, USA
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2018, 03:36:21 AM »
The rated pressure of the air tank does NOT allow corrosion. The actual bursting pressure of a loco boiler is quite high when new, but is designed to take working pressure decades later.

Air tanks is air tanks. Nothing more.

Pete
Craftsman, Tinkerer, Curious Person.
Retired, finally!
SB 10K lathe, Benchmaster mill. And stuff.

Offline asm109

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2018, 04:28:10 AM »
ASME design rules  fall into two broad categories, fired and unfired pressure vessels.  Air tank is unfired. The design rules use the material properties of steel at essentially room temperature.  Fired pressure vessels use the material properties at elevated temperatures. 
Short answer, don't do it.  Tank was not designed to work at elevated temps.

Offline tinkerer

« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2018, 07:00:31 AM »