Author Topic: James Coombes Table engine  (Read 1962 times)

Offline rebush

James Coombes Table engine
« on: November 15, 2019, 03:55:13 AM »
I've just finished building the James Coombes engine. I used the Stuart Models plans, but machined it from bar stock. This is my first attempt at a steam engine. and I don't fully understand how the cylinder works. There are two 3/32x3/8 ports that go to the top and bottom of the cylinder. There is a port 3/16x3/8 for the exhaust. How does the exhaust evacuate the cylinder? I've assembled the engine and have everything moving smoothly with no drag. When I set it up and put air to it,all I get is air coming out of the exhaust. Am i supposed to drill a 3/16 hole from the exhaust port into the cylinder? Thanks in advance for any light you can shed.
Hopelessly lost but making darn good time.

Offline jeff l

Re: James Coombes Table engine
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2019, 05:37:01 AM »
When the D valve in the steam chest covers one steam port (say the top one)and the center exhaust port the steam from that port exits the cylinder while steam in the steam chest is going into the exposed bottom steam  port .When the cylinder goes up the D valve exposes the top port while the bottom one is covered and it's exhaust flows out the center port . I hope this helps

Online Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2019, 07:13:01 AM »
As Jeff says

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9NEm3PMHPyc" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9NEm3PMHPyc</a>

Offline rebush

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2019, 01:53:01 PM »
Jason and Jeff, thanks for the replies. Will go over the engine today and see if I can figure out the problem. I have the piece in the D block that the rod goes thru snug with about .003 clearance to the face of the cylinder. Do i need to have that block floating in there so incoming air pushes it against the face of the cylinder?

Online Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2019, 01:58:56 PM »