Author Topic: Hi from Seattle!  (Read 1902 times)

Offline natbr

Hi from Seattle!
« on: November 29, 2017, 06:37:15 AM »
Hello,
I was infatuated with steam engines as a kid and assembled a Stuart V10  as probably a 15 yo.  Fast forward, 35 years and I took it out of storage (in great shape) and getting back into it with my son.  Had built a 3 foot ocean going tug for the plant to power ...

But I'm a complete novice when it comes to metalwork.  Wondering if there are any members in the Seattle area (looks like there might be on the mem map)  -- I'm trying to locate a venue to learn basic metal lathe-work and milling.

If anyone has any ideas ... sing out!

-- Nat

Online Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
Re: Hi from Seattle!
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2017, 04:28:19 PM »
Hi Nat,
Welcome to the forum!
Sorry, I'm not from Seattle, but a few hours south of you (in the Portland meto area).

Have you looked for a Maker's club up in the area? They might have a lathe & mill for use by members.

Kim

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 05:20:26 PM »
Hi Nat and also, welcome to MEM. This is a great hobby but quite addictive as well. AS Kim said, finding a local Maker space would be ideal from a hands on perspective, but we are here to help as much as we can via this medium as well. Welcome to the world of model engineering :)

Bill

Offline Hugh Currin

• Box Elder, SD, USA
    • www.currin.us
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2017, 05:22:19 PM »
But I'm a complete novice when it comes to metalwork.  Wondering if there are any members in the Seattle area (looks like there might be on the mem map)  -- I'm trying to locate a venue to learn basic metal lathe-work and milling.

If anyone has any ideas ... sing out!

-- Nat