Author Topic: Ignition Coils - Cheap quick and plentiful  (Read 2835 times)

Offline DD805

Ignition Coils - Cheap quick and plentiful
« on: December 01, 2017, 03:57:45 AM »
 Ignition Coils - Cheap, quick, easy and plentiful.

I posted this article on the other forum several years ago and when I checked a couple of days ago it had almost 25,000 reads so I thought it might be of interest here too.

Looking for a good source for coils for your model engines? Here is what I have been using since about 2011. They are cheap, easy to make and extremely plentiful. Millions are just waiting for you in your local junkyards.

They are the COP ignition systems used on all modern cars since the late 1980s. COP stands for Coil-Over-Plug or Coil-On-Plug, where each plug has its own coil. They are small, easy to modify for your models and powerful enough to meet most needs.

I bought a set of eight COPs for a 1980's Ford van from a local junkyard for $40 USD. That translates to a mere $5 per coil. If you don't need eight then get a set from a 6 or 4 cylinder engine. I suspect yards that allow you to pull your own parts will sell you one at a time.

Update Dec 2017. I just purchased 4 more COPs today from the same auto yard and they cost me  $10 each. I think I can do better on ebay. I will do a follow-up post when I have more info.

The first picture shows a COP just as it came from the yard. The second picture shows it with the boot removed. Remove the boot simply by grabbing and pulling it firmly. Sometimes it may take a slight twist.

The next step is to remove the spring. More rocket science, grab and pull, it will stretch out a bit but should pull off easily. You are now in possession of a basic ignition coil.