Author Topic: Hello from Florida  (Read 1645 times)

Offline Humphreymachineworks

• Machinist, fine artist, classical musician, etc.
Hello from Florida
« on: November 11, 2017, 03:19:46 PM »
Howdy, and thanks for welcoming me to the group. I am about 1.5 years into my studies to become a machinist, building my home shop, and my current project is building a Manson engine. I am 31 years old and my background is varied, consisting of different periods of intense study on different topics. As a kid I stayed occupied studying music, playing guitar, and studying the techniques of of the masters in many different genres, as well as studying art and realism. I worked my way up the pole until I found classical music and haven't played much else since. I apprenticed under a master of tattooing right out of high school and within a couple years I moved to Costa Rica, opened up a shop where I specialized in portraits and realism(the machines were designed and made by my teacher, an ex toolmaker), and dedicated all of my time to the classical guitar when not working, with aspirations to travel and compete abroad. I moved back to the states and got into long distance precision rifle shooting, which brought me to reloading match grade ammo which requires a number of precise operations done to the used brass casings. That rabbit hole led me to the machining trade, of which I was completely unfamiliar until then. One day I saw a video of "The Writer" automaton, a a machine made in the 1700's that looks like a doll and replicates human movement...and that was it. The solution to realizing my ideas and inventions in real life was before me. I knew at that very moment I wouldn't stop until I could do the same. Now, my full time day job is doing CAD design for a construction company for their remodeling projects, and working on my shop and projects all other times. I have been learning all of the old school machining aspects with little to no interest in modern CNC. Currently in my sh