Author Topic: New Member for South Africa  (Read 2045 times)

Offline faavs730222

New Member for South Africa
« on: November 02, 2017, 04:48:14 PM »
Hi, my name is Anton. I live in a small town in the center part of South Africa. I studied Mechanical Engineering but it was only until last year that I were able to buy a lathe and a milling machine (I am 44 now). I bought the machines to help me with my other hobby - restoring old Land Rovers. I am not a trained machinist, my only experience on machine tools were during my practical year for my Engineering Diploma. The model making came later, when I got one of Harold Hall's books on the lathe. I started with simple projects to hone my skills again. I think all mechanical mined people have a love for steam engines. I remember as a child how I admired the model steam engines at the hobby store at the coast.

I also subscribed to a lot of YouTube Channels, and there my learning continued, I am very grateful for people like Mr. Lyle Peterson, (Mr. Pete222) to take the time to make those videos. My first steam engine I based on one of his videos, but I design it myself, it was as simple single acting Wobbler, and I am very proud to say, that it ran first time. My second engine was a horizontal double acting oscillating steam engine, also of my own design. (I say design but it is really only my own measurements). Mr Pete started to build a Stuart Progress from castings, and I knew, that I MUST build a Stuart Engine, but I really don't have the skill yet required to do it properly.
I must say I am quite intimidated by the quality of the craftsmanship that I see on this forum. I would ask you to forgive me because I ask a lot of questions, and I like to know why a thing must be done in a certain way.

P.S. I also would like to start casting may own casings. I completed my Furnace and would like to start melting Aluminum this weekend.

Offline vcutajar

• Marsascala, MALTA
Re: New Member for South Africa