Author Topic: Building a Muncaster entablature engine  (Read 23230 times)

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
Re: Building a Muncaster entablature engine
« Reply #60 on: October 13, 2017, 08:45:43 PM »
Thanks, at the moment I've been using a piece of 8mm AF - it seems about the right size so I'll have another few goes getting the right profile tomorrow.

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
« Reply #61 on: October 21, 2017, 04:47:05 PM »
Well I'm pleased to say I've now got a bit further on and things are starting to take shape so I thought I'd add a progress update.

I decided to take the base plate next, it's not rocket science but does involve cutting a rounded profile concentric with the cylinder and adding a decorative radiussed detail all round, I've never done it before so I wasn't really looking forward to it.

The first bit is fairly straightforward - cut some steel plate to size, drill holes for the columns etc then add the radiussed edge. I bought a 2mm radius rounding mill at a decent price and it seems to do the job.

Next it's the dreaded rotary table to cut the semicircular front arc. I struggled to hold the part to allow a full 180o swing so in the end I bolted it to a scrap bar

A final check to see it is still centred after tightening down.

Although I didn't show making it I did make a bottom cylinder cover that isn't in the original model, so next job was to cut a 12mm recess at the cylinder centre line to accept the raised boss on the cover underside. It's probably a bit of overkill but it's to aid drilling mounting holes and help to locate the cylinder accurately later.

90 turns of the rotary table handle and the cylinder mounting holes are done.

I wasn't sure of the best way to tackle cutting the front arc but settled on drilling 2  6mm dia holes where the arc will meet with the straight.

Just a case of join the dots now

Then add the decorative radius using the rounding mill