Author Topic: Beginner - what drill bits to start?  (Read 5386 times)

Offline Stuart

• Tilchestune UK
Re: Beginner - what drill bits to start?
« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2017, 07:01:37 PM »
Kim
That’s what I use and have the drill sharpener set up to that angle ,it does the spilt point as well
Looks like I have been doing it wrong for 55 years  :o
My aim is for a accurate part with a good finish

Offline steam guy willy

« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2017, 11:46:29 PM »
Hi re sharpening I always sharpen my drills with an offhand grinder and have done for 58 years !! and have always wondered if a machine can faithfully copy the actual movements that the hand can make ?? i think that by doing it with an experienced hand i am getting a 1000 faceted drill bit ?? I would welcome any comments about this........Thanks.........

Offline Bobsmodels

« Reply #17 on: July 24, 2017, 01:03:06 AM »
Hi

I endorse the screw machine size.  I have a set of both and rarely use the jobber size.  Buy the best you can you will not regret it.  I have a microscope I use on the lathe and I have looked at some of the grinds under it.  The difference is remarkable as at the beginning I purchased the least expensive I could find.  Not only go for the best in drill bits, but also any tooling ie mill cutters, lathe tooling etc.  One real good one will give you great service.

Bob

BTW be careful as some brands have been bought out and are no longer US based, ie Precision Twist Drill (PTD), when selling these now they discount them about 50% to make you think you are getting a deal.  I have some of the ones from the new source and have had to regrind them.  Replacements will likely be Dormer from now on.

Online Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
« Reply #18 on: July 24, 2017, 01:22:49 AM »
Kim
That’s what I use and have the drill sharpener set up to that angle ,it does the spilt point as well
Looks like I have been doing it wrong for 55 years  :o