Author Topic: Beginner - what drill bits to start?  (Read 5305 times)

Offline matthew-s

Beginner - what drill bits to start?
« on: July 23, 2017, 02:38:59 PM »
Hi - I am a rank beginner, and have been very slowly building up a set of tools.  I think I'm finally at the point where I can start making things.
I don't have a set of drill bits though.  What should I start with?  I'd rather get a small set of good bits than a huge set of so-so bits.

I also will be making things on an Atlas 618, a Taig mill, and an 1/2" Atlas bench-top drill press.  Hopefully that gives you the sense of the size of models I will be building. I plan on starting with a Stuart S50 and then see where the hobby takes me from there.

For starters, I'm under the impression I should get HSS bits in screw machine length, but I'm less certain after that.  Get a "numbered" set? Fractional set? Metric?!?

Thanks!

Offline Stuart

• Tilchestune UK
Re: Beginner - what drill bits to start?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2017, 02:47:55 PM »
As you are building a Stuart model the fixings are BA 7ba to be precise
As BA is a metric thread then get only the bits you need a good set will cost £100 in 0.1 mm steps you will not need them all off hand 7 ba is 2.1mm tapping and 2.5 clearance
But you will also need taps

Get the kit look at the drawing and get what you need you will also need readers

My preference is dormer spilt point drill bits
My aim is for a accurate part with a good finish

Offline steam guy willy

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2017, 02:58:43 PM »